African American Film Critics Association to Honor Jamie Foxx, Datari Turner and More With Special Achievement Awards

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) has revealed its 2024 Special Achievement honorees, who will be celebrated at the organization’s 7th annual AAFCA Special Achievement Award luncheon on March 3 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Killers of the Flower Moon will receive the Stanley & Karen Kramer Social Justice Award for “shining a light on the true story of the infamous Osage Nation murders,” according to the organization.

Jamie Foxx and Datari Turner, the producing team behind Foxxhole Productions, will receive the AAFCA’s Producers Award for their films They Cloned Tyrone, Story Ave and The Burial, as well as Foxxhole’s continued commitment of telling inclusive stories on screen.

Related Stories

Choreographer Fatima Robinson will be honored with AAFCA’s Salute to Excellence Award, which celebrates her contribution to choreography, including her recent work on The Color Purple.

The late Michael Latt will receive the inaugural Freedom Award, which was established in his honor, “recognizing his legacy as an exceptional marketing strategist, thought leader, and founder of Lead With Love.”

Filmmaker Deon Taylor is receiving the Horizon Award which recognizes a “talent on the rise.” Founder of Hidden Empire Film Group, his upcoming projects include Free Agents and biopics on civil rights activist and congressman John Lewis and boxer Floyd Mayweather.

Delta Airlines is set to be honored with AAFCA’s Film Advocate Award “in recognition of their commitment to diversity in entertainment offered aboard Delta flights and embracing emerging filmmakers with their programming.”

“Our list this year includes titans and trailblazers whose work has transformed the cinematic arts,” says AAFCA President and Co-Founder Gil Robertson. “Their work leaves us in awe of their incredible achievements and inspires us to move forward in all our endeavors with passion, creativity and determination. AAFCA looks forward to celebrating them.”

Previous AAFCA Special Achievement Awards honorees include Ruth Carter, Jason Blum, Edward James Olmos, Pearlena Igbokwe, Channing Dungey, Sherry Lansing, Jon M. Chu, and Wesley Morris, among many others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *